Hostapd + wpa_supplicant

linux newbie linux.newbie79 at gmail.com
Tue Nov 30 04:12:00 EST 2010


Hi Dennis,

Thanks for your reply.

* My embedded device (wireless terminal) has only one network interface.

I am currently trying to do following setup.

* We have wireless terminals communicating to AP.
* There are situations in which some terminals goes out of coverage.
* We like to enable AP (in repeater or bridge mode) in our terminals,
so that out-of-coverage terminals can communicate with other terminals
which has coverage.
* So that we can maintain the coverage all the time.

Please let me know, if this is possible to achieve.

Thanks

On Tue, Nov 30, 2010 at 7:38 PM, Dennis Borgmann
<dennis.borgmann at googlemail.com> wrote:
> Hello linux newbie!
>
> It is not quite clear from your message, what you would like to do. Are
> you running only one wireless device within your embedded target? If so,
> it is not possible to run hostapd and wpa_supplicant at the same time,
> since the wireless card can only work in either AP or station mode. Both
> at the same time is not possible. So what you would need to do is write
> scripts, that kill the station mode, create an AP mode or the other way
> around depending on what you need at a defined point of time.
>
> If you want to run hostapd and wpa_supplicant at the very same time, for
> your embedded target to be an AP and a station at the very same moment,
> you will need to run two wireless interfaces on your target.
>
> HTH,
> Dennis Borgmann
>
> linux newbie schrieb:
>> Hi,
>>
>> Any suggestion?
>>
>> Thanks
>>
>> On Mon, Nov 29, 2010 at 3:13 PM, linux newbie <linux.newbie79 at gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>>> Hi,
>>>
>>> * On my embedded target, I am running rt73 based usb wireless adapter.
>>> * tested hostapd and wpa_supplicant individually and it is working fine.
>>> * bothe hostapd and wpa_supplicant are latest 0.7.3 versions with
>>> libnl_1.1 version & kernel 2.6.35
>>>
>>> If I run both wpa_supplicant and hostapd I am having issue.
>>>
>>> Reason for running hostapd and wpa_supplicant on same terminal is we
>>> have multiple wireless terminals and if one of them can't access the
>>> AP (due to coverage issue) , then it will bind to Hostapd on some
>>> other terminal. I am not sure, if I can able to configure my terminals
>>> to use both hostapd & wpa_supplicant and need your expert advice.
>>>
>>> Thanks
>>>
>>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> HostAP mailing list
>> HostAP at lists.shmoo.com
>> http://lists.shmoo.com/mailman/listinfo/hostap
>>
>
>


More information about the HostAP mailing list